Illinois Franchise Registration: FDD Registration
Illinois Franchise Registration Status: Registration State
State Registration Fee: $500.00
Illinois is a franchise registration state and a franchise regulation state. This means that prior to offering or selling a franchise in the State of Illinois a franchisor must provide the franchisee with a franchise disclosure document. The franchise disclosure document must be current and must have been registered with the Franchise Bureau for the Illinois Attorney General's Office. Prior to offering or selling a franchise in Illinois, as a franchisor you must ensure that your FDD is properly registered and, once registered, that your FDD Registration is renewed and updated no less frequently than annually.
Where Do Your File Your Illinois FDD
Your FDD must be filed and registered with the Franchise Bureau of the Illinois Attorney General's Office located at 500 South Second Street, Springfield, Illinois 62706. The telephone number for the franchise bureau is (217) 782 – 4465.
The Illinois Franchise Disclosure Act and FDD Registration
Illinois FDD Disclosure and regulatory requirements consist of the Illinois Franchise Disclosure Act which defines franchise relationships in the State of Illinois and provides for detailed requirements that a franchisor must follow when applying for franchise registration.
To register your FDD with the Illinois Attorney General, Franchisor's must submit the following documents and forms:
- Uniform Franchise Registration Application Page;
- Supplemental Information Page;
- Sales Agent Disclosure Form for each sales agent employment by or affiliated with the applicant;
- Uniform Consent to Service of Process naming the Illinois Attorney General as agent to receive service, with corporate, individual or partnership acknowledgment;
- Certification Page;
- Auditor's consent letter granting consent to use each audited report in the registration;
- Uniform Franchise Offering circular in duplicate current within 120 days and in compliance with UFOC Guidelines. Updated information pertaining to Items 20 or 21 may be submitted as an exhibit without changing the information already in these items; and
- A $500 non-refundable fee payable to the State of Illinois (as of 2016)
Below are links to forms that may be helpful in completing your Illinois FDD registration application:
- Notification Page (Form A)
- Franchisors Costs and Sources of Funds (Form B)
- Uniform Franchise Consent to Service of Process (Form C)
- Franchise Seller Disclosure Form (Form D)
- Guarantee of Performance (Form E)
- Consent of Accountant (Form F)
- Sample Cover Page (Form G)
- Sample Receipt (Form H)
The Illinois Secretary of State will generally notify your franchise attorney as to whether or not your registration was approved or rejected. If no order has been issued or proceeding pending under Section 5-45 of the Illinois Franchise Disclosure Act and the franchise registration application has been accepted, the effective date of the franchise registration is generally the 10th full business day after the filing has been completed. If the Illinois Secretary of State wishes, they may waive or reduce the time period of effectiveness, provided that a complete filing has been made.
To learn more about state franchise laws, click here. To learn more about how we can assist you in registering your FDD, visit our Franchise Counsel Program.