Utah Franchise Registration: FDD Registration
Utah is a Franchise Filing State. The initial state filing fee is $100 and must be renewed annually.
Utah Franchise and Business Opportunity Laws
The State of Utah is a franchise filing state and not a franchise registration state. Before offering or selling a franchise in Utah, you must file a "Notice of Exemption" with the Utah Division of Consumer Protection. Your exemption notice must be renewed annually.
Utah’s franchise filing requirement is triggered by its Business Opportunity Disclosure Act, which requires registration of business opportunities. Under the Act, franchisors that maintain a valid and current Franchise Disclosure Document ("FDD") may claim a business opportunity registration exemption through the filing of a Notice of Exemption. The exemption filing fee is $100 and must be renewed annually.
To learn more about filing a FDD and franchise exemption notice in Utah and how we can help, give us a call at (800) 976-4904 or contact us.
Utah Franchise and Business Opportunity FAQs
Who Regulates Franchises in Utah?
The Division of Consumer Protection of the Utah Department of Commerce regulates and oversees the enforcement of Utah’s Business Opportunity Disclosure Act. The Act broadly defines business opportunities to include franchises.
Where Do I File My Utah Notice of Exemption?
Franchisors with a valid and current FDD must file a Notice of Exemption with the Division of Consumer Protection. This filing must be made online only as Utah no longer accepts paper franchise filings. The Division’s phone number is (801) 530-6601.
What Should I Include with My Utah Franchise Filing?
You filing must be made online through Utah’s electronic filing system. When filing online, you will need:
- Name of your franchise company;
- Name of your franchise system brand;
- Principal business address of your franchise company;
- The Federal Employer Identification number for your franchise company;
- Contact information;
- Signature affirming that your franchise company is in compliance with the FTC Federal Franchise Rule; and
- To pay the filing fee with a credit card. Payment of the filing fee will be prompted at the end of the online filing process.
Once your franchise filing has been fully processed, the Division will email you a certificate of registration confirming the filing and acceptance of your notice of exemption. You must renew your filing annually.
Need assistance registering your FDD in Utah? Give us a call at (800) 976-4904 or contact us to learn more.
Useful Links Concerning Utah’s Franchise and Business Opportunity Laws
- Utah Division of Consumer Protection – This is the home page for the Division of Consumer Protection. The Division is responsible for regulating the sale of business opportunities in Utah.
- Utah Business Opportunity FAQs - Published by the Division of Consumer Protection, this page includes information about the Utah Business Opportunity Disclosure Act and information for franchisors about filing an exemption notice.
- Utah Business Opportunity Disclosure Act - This link is to the actual text of the Utah Business Opportunity Disclosure Act as published by the Utah Legislature.
- Notice of Exemption Form - This is the required form to be filed by franchisors when seeking annual exemption from Utah’s Business Opportunity Disclosure Act.
Visit our interactive franchise registration map and learn more about state franchise laws, FDD registration states, and required franchise filings.
To learn more about how we can help you with your franchise registrations and growing your franchise in Utah and across the United States, contact us at (800) 976-4904 or contact us online.