South Dakota is a Franchise Filing State. The initial FDD filing fee is $250 and the annual renewal filing fee is $150.
South Dakota is a franchise filing state. Prior to offering or selling a franchise in South Dakota, you must file a notice with a copy of your FDD with the Division of Insurance and Securities Regulation of the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. Your filing is a “notice filing” and South Dakota does not assign an examiner to review your FDD and there is no FDD registration process. The initial South Dakota filing fee is $250 and the annual renewal fee is $150. Your filing must be renewed on an annual basis.
To learn more about selling franchises in South Dakota and how we can help with your FDD filing, give us a call at (800) 976-4904 or contact us.
South Dakota is a franchise filing state and is a state that has enacted extensive franchise laws and regulations. Under South Dakota’s franchise laws, before offering or selling a franchise in South Dakota you are required to file a notice that includes a copy of your FDD with the state. Your notice must be renewed on an annual basis and although South Dakota does not review or formally register your FDD, you must certify in your notice that the information contained in your FDD is accurate and without any misrepresentations.
Your filing is effective upon receipt by the director and you should confirm the effectiveness of your filing before offering or selling franchises in South Dakota. Your notice filing must be renewed on an annual basis.
The Division of Insurance and Securities Regulation of the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation regulates the filing of your Franchise Notice and FDD.
Your South Dakota Franchise Notice Filing Application must be filed at:
South Dakota Dept of Labor and Regulation
Division of Insurance
124 S. Euclid Suite 104
Pierre, SD 57501
Their telephone number is (605) 773-5369
Your Franchise Notice Filing should include:
The South Dakota franchise notice filing is effective for one year from the date of its receipt by the South Dakota director. Annually, you must renew your filing but you cannot make such renewal filing more than 30 days prior to the renewal date. Post effective amendments are not filed with South Dakota and although your South Dakota notice will be effective for one year, you must nevertheless ensure that not less than 120 days from the end of your fiscal year that your FDD is updated in accordance with the Federal Franchise Rule.
Under South Dakota law, in determining whether or not a business relationship constitutes a franchise, the following definition applies:
“Franchise,” any continuing commercial relationship or arrangement, whatever it may be called, in which the terms of the offer or contract specify, or the franchise seller promises or represents, orally or in writing, that:
In order to fulfill the franchise filing requirements in South Dakota, the following information needs to be submitted to the South Dakota Department of Labor & Securities Regulation:
South Dakota franchise law requires that filing be renewed no less than annually. The filing fee for the annual renewal is $150.00. Franchisors are not required to submit any additional filings if they update their Franchise Disclosure Document within the year. However, the state does expect the franchisor to make changes to the disclosure document no less than quarterly and provide prospective franchisees with the most up to date copy.
The South Dakota Division of Securities address is: 124 S. Euclid Avenue, Suite 104, Pierre, SD, 57501 and their phone number is (605) 773-4823.
South Dakota’s franchise laws recognize and exempt the filing notice requirements for: (a) franchise transactions that are governed by the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act; (b) franchise transactions where there are no written documents reciting or evidencing the terms of the franchise relationship; (c) fractional franchises; (d) leased departments; (e) transactions where total consideration from the inception of the franchise relationship through the 6 month anniversary of the franchised business is less than $500; and (f) franchise relationships covering farm machinery, certain motor vehicles, recreational vehicles, mobile homes and manufactured homes. Before relying on an exemption you should carefully review with your attorney whether or not you qualify.
Visit our interactive franchise registration map and learn more about state franchise laws, FDD registration states and required franchise filings.
To learn more about how we can help you with your franchise registrations and growing your franchise in South Dakota and across the United States contact us at (800) 976-4904 or contact us.
Are you a franchisor or a part of a franchise sales team? Do you want to learn more about franchise sale compliance and ensure that your sales practices comply with franchise laws and are consistent with best practices? Then this guide is for you. In this guide you’ll learn the... read more
In this guide you’ll learn the basics of franchising, how to franchise your business, and how to win at franchising. We’ll also take a deeper dive into legal requirements for franchising and why they matter, steps to take before and after you launch your franchise, and even some tips on... read more
When considering expanding a business both franchising and licensing are possible options. In this guide, you'll learn the differences of franchising and licensing and understand how each will affect you. read more
Are you considering franchising your business? If so, its important to understand the advantages and disadvantages of franchising your business. Franchising is a legal and business model designed to achieve multi-unit expansion. Compared to organic expansion where you invest in and open multiple locations yourself, franchising allows you to recruit... read more
The documents to franchise your business include the franchise disclosure document (FDD), franchise agreement, operations manual, financial statements, and state specific registration applications. Below we discuss each franchise document in detail. 1. Franchise Disclosure Document Before you can offer or sell a franchise you are required to issue and disclose... read more
Franchising may be the next big step for your business and represents an opportunity to grow your brand. So, how do you know if franchising is right for you? How do you know if your business is franchisable and, if it is, whether or not you should franchise your business?... read more
In this webinar, Charles Internicola and Laura Meyer, founder of Joybrand Creative, talk about how to position your brand to win at franchise sales. Some topics include: How franchisors can develop their brand strategy How to differentiate your brand strategy between your targeted end-user customers and prospective franchisees for franchise... read more
In this webinar, Charles N. Internicola, Esq. and Lisa Welko, CFE of Integrity Franchise Group discuss what it takes to make your brand attractive to franchise brokers and sell to qualified franchisees. Selling franchises and building a durable franchise system - all comes down to being a "good franchisor," making... read more
Key strategies to accelerate franchise growth for startup and emerging franchisors In this webinar, franchise attorney Charles Internicola and Nick Powills, founder of No Limit Agency and 1851 Franchise, discuss key strategies to accelerate franchise growth through PR and digital media. Some topics include: Steps franchisors should take when it... read more
With services to make your growth strategy simple, cost effective, and with a team excited to help you, let’s talk about how we can help grow your business.
Fill out the following form and we’ll contact you as soon as possible. To reach our team directly, give us a call at (800) 976-4904.
An attorney client relationship is not established by submitting this initial contact information.