Skip to Main Content

State Specific Franchise Laws

State franchise laws vary and each state falls into one of three categories: franchise registration states, franchise filing states, and non-registration states.

US map

The offer and sale of a franchise requires compliance with federal and state franchise laws.

Franchisors must develop, maintain, register, and disclose a uniform Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). The FDD must be registered in the franchise registration states, filed in the franchise filing states, and disclosed in every state to a prospective franchisee. Franchisors must manage and maintain their FDD, franchise disclosures and franchise relationships in compliance with a broad range of state franchise regulations and state franchise relationship laws.

State Franchise Laws

At the state level there are various franchise registration, filing, disclosure, and relationship laws that are imposed on franchisors and that vary from state-by-state. States that require FDD registration are known as the franchise registration states and, typically, impose the most stringent franchise laws and regulations. Franchise registration states require annual FDD registration, franchise filing states require either one-time or annual franchise filings, and non-registration states do not require any FDD registration or filings. Below we include links and information related to the state specific franchise laws. The Franchise map is interactive and links to state specific pages that outline the franchise requirements for each state.

Federal Franchise Laws

At the federal level franchising is regulated by the Federal Franchise Rule and franchise regulations implemented and enforced by the Federal Trade Commission. Franchisors must disclose a properly issued and current franchise disclosure document 14 days before offering or selling a franchise. Under the federal rule, franchise compliance is largely self-regulated and franchisors are not required to file or register their FDD with any federal agency. Learn more about the franchise laws.

State Franchise Law Map

Our interactive franchise registration map allows you to review the status of each franchise registration, franchise filing, and non-registration state. Also you can access detailed information about the franchise laws of each state, where to file your franchise applications, and spate specific franchise laws. The franchise registration map and each state designation assumes that your trademarks are registered with the USPTO. If not, laws in CT, NC, SC, GA, LA and ME require franchise registration or filings. See state-specific information below.

Franchise Registration States

California is a franchise registration state. The initial FDD registration fee is $675 and the annual renewal fee is $450. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the California Department of Financial Protection and innovation. Learn more about franchising in California.

Hawaii is a franchise registration state. The initial FDD registration and annual renewal fee is $250. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Business Registration Division of the Hawaii State Dept. of Commerce and Consumer Affairs. Learn more about franchising in Hawaii.

Illinois is a franchise registration state. The initial FDD registration fee is $500 and the annual renewal fee is $100. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Franchising Bureau of the Illinois Attorney General. Learn more about franchising in Illinois.

Indiana is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $500 and the annual renewal fee is $200. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Securities Division of the Indiana Secretary of State. Learn more about about franchising in Indiana

Maryland is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $500 and the annual renewal fee is $250. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Securities Division of the Maryland Office of Attorney General. Learn more about about franchising in Maryland.

Michigan is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration and annual renewal fee is $250. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Franchise Section of the Consumer Protection Division for the Michigan Department of Attorney General. Learn more about about franchising in Michigan.

Minnesota is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $400 and the annual renewal fee is $200. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Securities Division of the Minnesota Department of Commerce. Learn more about about franchising in Minnesota.

New York is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $750 and the annual renewal fee is $150. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Investment Protection Bureau of the New York Attorney General. Learn more about about franchising in New York.

North Dakota is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $250 and the annual renewal fee is $100. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the North Dakota Securities Department. Learn more about about franchising in North Dakota.

Rhode Island is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $600 and the annual renewal fee is $300. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Rhode Island Department of Business Regulation. Learn more about about franchising in Rhode Island.

Virginia is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $500 and the annual renewal fee is $250. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Virginia Corporation Commission, Division of Securities and Retail Franchising. Learn more about about franchising in Virginia.

Washington is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee is $600 and the annual renewal fee is $100. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Washington State Department of Financial Institutions, Securities Division. Learn more about franchising in Washington.

Wisconsin is a franchise registration state. The Initial FDD registration fee and annual renewal fee is $400. FDD registration and renewal applications must be filed with the Department of Financial Institutions, Securities Division. Learn more about franchising in Wisconsin.

Franchise Filing States

Connecticut is a franchise filing state and requires a one time filing fee of $400 submitted with an "exclusion request" to the Connecticut Dept. of Banking. If your trademarks are not federally registered then you must register your FDD with the state. Learn more about franchising in Connecticut.

Florida is a franchise filing state and requires an annual filing fee of $100 filed with the Florida Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services. Learn more about franchising in Florida.

Kentucky is a franchise filing state and requires the one-time filing of an exemption notice with the Consumer Protection Division of the Office of Attorney General. There is no filing fee. Learn more about franchising in Kentucky.

Nebraska is a franchise filing state and requires an initial filing fee of $100 and an annual filing fee of $50. Filings are submitted to the Nebraska Dept. of Banking and Finance. Learn more about franchising in Nebraska.

North Carolina is a franchise filing state and requires a one-time filing fee of $250 submitted to the North Carolina Secretary of State. Learn more about franchising in North Carolina

South Carolina is a franchise filing state. There is no fee and if you maintain a federally registered trademark the filing is a one-time filing notifying the Secretary of State of your exemption status. Learn more about franchising in South Carolina.

South Dakota is a franchise filing state and requires an initial FDD filing fee of $250 and an annual filing fee of $150. Filings are submitted to the Division of Insurance Securities Regulation. Learn more about franchising in South Dakota.

Texas is a franchise filing state and requires a one-time filing fee of $25 submitted to the Registrations Unit of the Texas Secretary of State. Learn more about franchising in Texas.

Utah is a franchise filing state and requires an initial and annual FDD filing fee of $100 submitted to the Utah Dept. of Commerce, Consumer Protection Division. Learn more about franchising in Utah.

States that Do Not Require Franchise Registration or Filings

Alabama is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn more about franchising in Alabama.

Alaska is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Alaska.

Arizona is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn more about franchising in Arizona.

Arkansas is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Arkansas.

Colorado is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Colorado

Delaware is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Delaware.

District of Columbia is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in the District of Columbia.

Georgia is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Georgia.

Idaho is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Idaho.

Kansas is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Kansas.

Louisiana is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Louisiana.

Maine is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Maine.

Massachusetts is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Massachusetts.

Mississippi is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Mississippi.

Missouri is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Missouri.

Montana is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Montana.

Nevada is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Nevada.

New Hampshire is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in New Hampshire.

New Jersey is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in New Jersey.

New Mexico is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in New Mexico.

Ohio is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Ohio.

Oklahoma is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Oklahoma.

Oregon is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Oregon.

Pennsylvania is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Pennsylvania.

Tennessee is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Tennessee.

Vermont is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Vermont.

West Virginia is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in West Virginia.

Wyoming is not a franchise registration state and does not require FDD registration or filing. Learn More about franchising in Wyoming.

Learn more about how we can help get your FDD registered and renewed at (800) 976-4904 or schedule a complimentary consultation.