skip to content
Home Franchise Your Business Vermont Franchise Registration Laws

Vermont Franchise Registration Status: Non-Registration State
State Registration Fee: $0.00

Vermont does not have any state franchise laws and does not fall under any business opportunity laws. It is considered a non-registration state. Franchisors do need to be careful to adhere to federal franchise laws put in place by the Federal Trade Commission.

Requirements to Sell Franchises in Vermont

In order to sell franchises in Vermont your franchise must be in compliance with federal franchise laws. One of the most important items needed to offer or sell franchise location in Vermont, and all other states in the U.S., is a Franchise Disclosure Document, also known as an FDD. An FDD is a legal document that discloses information about various aspects of the franchise opportunity to the franchisee. It must be provided to the franchisee at least 14 days prior to the sale of a franchise location regardless of the state it is being sold in.

An FDD is an important document and should be carefully constructed to convey accurate information about your franchise and to comply with federal franchise laws. If you are franchising your business in another state (see additional state franchise laws) you may also be required to submit your FDD for approval to the state. A franchise lawyer should be hired to correctly construct the FDD and to ensure your franchise is complying with the appropriate federal and state laws.

Useful Vermont Franchise Resources

To learn more about our state and federal compliance services for franchisors, visit our Franchise Counsel Program page.

Back to Franchise Launch Program

Close Overlay

Let’s Talk

With services to make your growth strategy simple, cost effective, and with a team excited to help you, let’s talk about how we can help grow your business.

Fill out the following form and we’ll contact you as soon as possible. To reach our team directly, give us a call at (800) 976-4904.