For Franchisors offering and selling franchises in the State of California, registering your FDD with the California Department of Business Oversight is a critical and necessary requirement; however, in certain, extremely limited instances, there may be circumstances where you may sell a franchise in California without first registering your FDD. Keep in mind that these exemptions are “registration exemptions” and do not negate the fact and absolute requirement that you disclose your franchisee prospects with a properly issued Franchise Disclosure Document and that you otherwise comply with the Federal Franchise Laws.
Warning: The decision and determination as to whether or not a registration exemption applies can only be determined by an experienced franchise lawyer after reviewing the particular facts related to your franchise system, your prospective franchisee and your potential franchise sale, and, after a full review and evaluation of California’s franchise laws. This article does not address all of the required facts, circumstances and laws that must be evaluated prior to making any decision about a franchise registration exemption. You cannot base any decision as to whether or not an exemption may or may not apply based on this article.
California Corporations Code Section 31110 is the starting point for understanding California’s franchise registration requirement, stating:
“…it shall be unlawful for any person to offer or sell any franchise in this state unless the offer of the franchise has been registered under this part or exempted under Chapter 1 (commencing with Section 31100) of this part.”
Unless a specific exemption applies, i.e., an exemption that specifically negates the registration mandate of Section 31110, as a franchisor, you must register your franchise with the state before “offering or selling any franchise” in the State of California.
Some “potential” registration exemptions to consider, include:
To invoke the experienced franchisee registration exemption, you must complete and file a Section 31106 Franchise Registration Exemption Notice which must be filed with the California Department of Business Oversight and requires payment of a $450 filing fee.
To invoke the fractional franchise registration exemption, you must complete and file a Section 31108 Franchise Registration Exemption Notice which must be filed with the California Department of Business Oversight and requires payment of a $450 filing fee.
To learn more about California’s Franchise Registration requirements, click here.
Franchising may be the next big step for your business and brand. So, how do you know whether or not you should franchise your business and if franchising is right for you? The answer depends on your business, your business goals, your personal goals, your budget and where you want... read more
In this guide you’ll learn the basics of franchising, how to franchise your business, and how to win at franchising. We’ll also take a deeper dive into legal requirements for franchising and why they matter, steps to take before and after you launch your franchise, and even some tips on... read more
When considering expanding a business both franchising and licensing are possible options. In this guide, you'll learn the differences of franchising and licensing and understand how each will affect you. read more
Are you a successful business owner? Are you looking for ways to expand your business? If so, this article will provide the answers you need to decide whether franchising your business is the right step for you. In short, franchising allows you, the franchisor, to create a relationship among several... read more
Under federal law, prior offering or selling a franchise in any state, franchisors are required to disclose a franchise disclosure document (FDD) to their prospective franchisees. In addition to federal law certain states, including the franchise registration states, require that franchisors register their FDD with the state. The legal documentation... read more
If your business is successful and you are looking to expand, for good reason, you may be asking questions like “is my business franchisable?”, and “can my business be franchised?” To answer these questions and determine whether or not your business is ready for franchising, you should evaluate the following... read more
Key strategies to accelerate franchise growth for startup and emerging franchisors In this webinar, franchise attorney Charles Internicola and Nick Powills, founder of No Limit Agency and 1851 Franchise, discuss key strategies to accelerate franchise growth through PR and digital media. Some topics include: Steps franchisors should take when it... read more
One of the biggest issues for emerging franchisors is not having a plan for insurance and system-wide protection. What do emerging brands need to know when they're starting off, who should they rely on, and how can they plan ahead? Get an insurance game plan to protect your franchise system... read more
Key strategies for developing the right logo & trade dress to drive franchise growth with branding and design expert Dan Antonelli. Dan is the author of ‘Building a Big Small Business Brand’ and is the creative director of the branding firm KickCharge Creative. Learn how to drive franchise growth and... read more
With services to make your growth strategy simple, cost effective, and with a team excited to help you, let’s talk about how we can help grow your business.
Fill out the following form and we’ll contact you as soon as possible. To reach our team directly, give us a call at (800) 976-4904.
An attorney client relationship is not established by submitting this initial contact information.